Stoopid Astrology of the Day

July 30, 2008

In badastronomy, Phil posted this. It is funny, since the astrologer didn’t predict the earthquake. Don’t tell me “It r teh defferent kimd of aztrologi, duuuuhh !!!!111oneoneone” because they all use the same method of using the stars and planet. If they use those methods, they should be self consistent. But no, it is MY method that is the right one. Jeez, people, at least try to remain consistent with your claims.

I used to really hate astrology, even more than biblical creationism (they are really close, though, and now, creationism is the only woo which make me extremely angry, other woos just get me calmly dismissing them). The only reason I used to hate astrology more is because it besmirch astronomy, my favorite subject. Mistreating such beautiful science like this one (and others), and using it to leak money out of followers is more than I can bear. I also used to detest it when I told others that I wanted to be an astronomer, and they confuse it with astrology, although these days, I don’t mind so much anymore. These days, I consider it a badge of honor, a badge that says you are an astronomer at heart. You see, I have heard of other astronomers that have had other people confuse astronomy with astrology. If people come around you to ask things like that, then they must consider you at least knowledgeable. :) I kind of loosened up a bit when it comes to astrology. It is entertaining to match and compare horoscopes. Still, some people are believing in those things for real, so I can’t go easy on it.

Anyways, the whole concept of astrology doesn’t make sense.  The supposed influence doesn’t depend on mass or distance. Then why aren’t the freaking asteroids, dusts, black holes, extra solar planets, and other astro objects taken into account? (courtesy from badastronomy) Also, the whole horoscope idiocy is like a stick figure drawing with white background. It is so vague that the very metaphor of the stick figure drawing doesn’t hold. (ok, this is an overexaggeration) You should watch one of James Randi’s experiments on astrology and other woos in youtube. They show the sillines of astrology and other woos. Say no to woos, children.


The Mario Monster Rebellion

July 30, 2008

This is a really funny video. Basically, the monsters from the Mario games rebel against Bowser because he ordered them to act stupidly (like koopas walking off cliffs). In the end, they all get back at Mario, which is the funniest part of the whole thing. Here is the video. Warning, bad language for those of you sissies who care. :)


When We Left Earth

July 30, 2008

Read the rest of this entry »


Carnivals of Elite Space Continuum

July 30, 2008

Pun intended, jerks. :)

Anyways, I am a bit late, but they are still worth a good read. Today, I am posting two of them, the one of the elite arrogant jerks, and  the one of space. So, enjoy:

Carnival of elitist bastards

Carnival of space


Irritating Grammar and Spelling

July 30, 2008

In this blog, you may find that I find a lot of things irritating, and I usually like to rank about those. Today’s topic is horrible grammar and spelling. I just can’t stand those. I don’t mind if there are a few errors, but when I hang around the internet, I find that reading some of those comments difficult and irritating. God! How hard could it be to check what one writes! All you have to do is just read your own post and rewrite some words! Reading one of those “Me r teh bst perzzon im ze word!!!111oneoneone” (I kind of exaggerated in that quote) is time consuming and a sore to my eyes. After reading one of those, I feel like clawing my eyes out of the socket. Worst of all, are the people who write in caps, as if no one will get the point unless you capitalize everything. Now, those can be understood, but they are still annoying. Usually, it is usually written by childish type of people who thinks that being louder will make a point stronger.

If you want some examples, I suggest you go to pharyngula and read the post about some of the hate mails he has received. God, people, write better (I am refering to those who don’t :) ).


Space Google Logo

July 30, 2008

Yesterday, the google logo had a space theme. It is my favourite :) Maybe it is a response to NASA;s anniversary? Anyways, here is the pic:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers