Reading Marathon (day 3)

I read One Hundred Years of Solitude up to page 377, and god, I am tired. And I still have like 4 more days and 2 essays to go. The book is kind of depressing. Most characters in the book are destined to die after a fit of insanity or solitary confinement. Sometimes, the book feels like deja vu. Things that were before seems to repeat itself but in alternate ways. Jose leading a band of strikers reminded me of Aureliano leading a ragtag group of soldiers, for example. This feeling of mine is vindicated by the way a character named Ursula feels, that things are repeating themselves.

In one part of the book, Americans arrive at the town, makes a plantation, and rules over it. I wonder if it is an allusion to America’s imperialist policies. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was. USA has a history of that in Latin America and other countries. It also seems like a statement about the harm of unregulated capitalism. At one depressing part, the police shoots down all of the strikers, and the rest of the town soon forgets that there ever was a strike, and the government pretends as if negotiations went well. What the heck is wrong with them?! I know they are fictional, but it is just disturbing when people forget their troubles have ever existed. In a way, this seems too real, even if the premise is fantasy.

One Response to Reading Marathon (day 3)

  1. Mathew James says:

    Great post, it was very informative. I think its a must read.

    From IBY, Hey, I am not interested in the stupid do the homework for you websites, okay? In case you didn’t know, that is spamming. Which is why I erased those stupid links. So, don’t let me get you doing it again, or you are out.

Leave a Reply

