Oh Crap, Venezuela is Doomed

Something terrible happened in Venezuela right now, and I care because I lived there a few years ago. In a referendum for people to vote whether Chavez could amend the constitution whatever he wanted to, the result was yes. Also, he plans to run, as any dictator in history shows, indefinitely. If you understand spanish, then here you go, El Universal, a Venezuelan newspaper.

5 Responses to Oh Crap, Venezuela is Doomed

  1. It’s worse about Venezuela is not that Chavez can run indefinitely, it’s that there is still open division amongst the rich and the poor.

    One is tossed within a rock and hard place. Would one rather have Chavez – someone who, despite it all, is on the side of poor. Or would the people rather have an oligarchy they threw out in 1998 for Chavez, an oligarchy that failed them for half a century.

    Before we go off on dictator rants, you should visit my site and read an article I posted from Common Dreams about the US media and Venezuela. Your living there may shed some new light on it.

  2. I hear you about the homes. I’ve seen them too. I hate to boil it to two dichotomies, to generalize an entire population, but, as you mentioned, the people abandoned their “Liberal/Conservative” system in 1998 for a party-less Chavez because of the vast inequalities exemplified in “Caracazo” in 1989.

    I like term limits. I want democracy for Venezuela. I want the power out of the hands of oligarchs and autocrats. These views get convoluted with Venezuela because do I support despots? Are my views compatible.

    Thanks for the furthering of the discussion.

  3. ANDRES says:

    OH YEAH! I WRITE FROM THIS FUCKING COUNTRY AND I WOULD LIKE TO FLY AWAY FROM HERE, YEAH I WANNA GO, THIS IS A CRAP, THRE´RE MANY MADNESS PEOPLE BEGING FOR CHAVEZ HE´S A THIEF, A MURDER HE HATE ALL THE CITIZENS OF HIS COUNTRY, HE LIAR TO THE PEOPLE, WE´RE TIRED OF BE HERE AGAINST THIS MOTHER FUCKER IS FUCKING THE HUMAN RIGHTS OF EVERYBODY THAT LIVE HERE.
    WE NEED A HELP OF US ARMY, SOMETHING LIKE IRAQ WAR, YEAH YEAH YEAH IS VERY DANGEROUS, BUT WHAT THE FUCK, WE NEED FREEDOM WE NEED LIBERTY.
    FOR THE END, I LOVE USA I WOULD LIKE LIVE IN USA ALL MY LIVE, I AM RIGHT NOW STUDING PETROLEUM ENGINEER IN MARACAIBO A WEST CITY FROM VENEZUELA, I WOULD LIKE ONCE I FINISH, GO TO USA AND LIVE AND WORK THERE,
    WELL, I DON´T SPEAK MUCH ENGLISH, AND I DON´T KNOW IF YOU ARE READING THAT RIGHT AND UNDERSTANDING.
    WELL, I THINK SO. HAVE A NICE DAY TO ALL MY FRIENDS.

  4. ANDRES says:

    EXCUSEME IF I SAID BAD WORDS.

  5. ibyea says:

    Don’t cap your words, it sounds like you are shouting. Do it again, and your comment will be deleted. Also, another dumb, fanatic commentary with no substance, good argument, with no intelligence behind, and I will be unsympathetic to your plight, and delete you.

Leave a Reply

