Astronomy Club: March 2010 Meeting

Woops, this was supposed to be released two weeks ago. I guess I don’t pay a lot of attention to my blogging. 😄

Yay, another astronomy club meeting! And free doughnuts! Always worth the meeting, so to any Delawarian who reads this, come to Delaware Astronomical Society at Mount Cuba. Even if you hate astronomy with all your might, and just think that astronomy are for losers, there is dddoouuugghhnnuut. 😉

This month’s presentation was on errors in telescopes. While I would have liked it to be more science oriented, I still found it quiet interesting. Apparently, there is a gazillion ways for telescopes to be blurry. So yeah, what it says on the pic above.

Slide above: Going over concepts in optical problems.

What happens when the lens is slightly mis-shaped so that the wavefront arriving the eye is slightly off by 1/2 or 1/4 wavelenght of the light.

Oh, and I learned that Hubble Space telescope had the spherical abberation problem. But I am not all that into telescopes, so some parts I couldn’t understand with some of the jargon. The talk was good, but it was not an area of interest of mine, so I don’t remember much about it.

For me, the best part was observing Mars and the Orion Nebula. While the nebula is not as bright as the pictures, and Mars was quiet small, since it is going to the other side of the Solar System, it was still very cool. I wish I could have photographs of them. At least I can give you an approximation from google how it looked like, although it was smaller, and had less color:

Leave a Reply

