I Learned Programming

So, I recently learned the basics of programming due to Coursera. If you want the specifics, I learned Python. Using the template and assets the online class gave me, I made a basic shooting game, which you can check out here.

The controls are:

Space-shoot

Up-accelerate

Left/Right-turn around

Now, having tried out the game, I know what you are thinking. It sucks. Well, yes. First of all, I don’t know how to get around the ghosting effect of the keyboard because I am a noob at this. Second of all, if I had the time and energy, I would have added a bunch of stuff. The highest stuffs in my priority list would have been adding collisions to the rocks, increasing the difficulty as the game goes on, adding the explosion animation (which they were kind enough to give me, but didn’t take advantage of), and adding the start screen. Unfortunately, I don’t have the time or the energy, so this piece of software will remain a blot to all of humanity for all eternity.

2 Responses to I Learned Programming

  1. Would you like to enter my free programming competition? http://contestcoding.wordpress.com/

  2. I love it! I have just signed up to the latest offering of this Corusera course. Have you tried Udacity.com? This is probably my favourite MOOC interface.

    Would you recommend any other courses?

Leave a Reply

